Blog / Trending Topics

When is the Pritzker Prize 2024?


The Pritzker Prize is the most prestigious award in the field of architecture, akin to the Nobel Prize within this discipline. Annually, it is bestowed upon a living architect whose built works demonstrate a blend of talent, vision, and commitment, yielding consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.

In this article, we will delve into all the pertinent details about the Pritzker Prize 2024, including its award date, the significance of the prize, and past winners.

What is the Pritzker Prize?

Before we explore the details of the Pritzker Prize 2024, it's crucial to understand what this award is and why it holds such significance in the field of architecture. Established in 1979 by Jay A. Pritzker and his wife Cindy, the prize aims to honour a living architect whose work has demonstrated a combination of talent, vision, and commitment, contributing significantly to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture. Laureates receive a bronze medallion and a monetary award of $100,000.

When is the Pritzker Prize 2024?

The Pritzker Prize ceremony is scheduled to take place in spring, a tradition that has been upheld over the years. In 2024, the Hyatt Foundation has announced that the winner will be unveiled on 5 March at 9 am EST.

Who Has Won the Pritzker Prize?

Over the years, the Pritzker Prize has been awarded to world-renowned architects for their unique and significant contribution to the profession. Notable winners include Zaha Hadid (2004), Frank Gehry (1989), and Norman Foster (1999). More recently, we find the names of Francis Kéré (2022), Sir David Alan Chipperfield (2023), and Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal (2021).

These winners, among others, have made an indelible mark on the world of architecture, inspiring future generations of architects.

How is the Winner Chosen?

The selection process for the Pritzker Prize is thorough and rigorous. An independent jury composed of experts in architecture, culture, art, and related disciplines reviews the nominations. This jury evaluates the candidates' works based on a series of criteria, including architectural quality, innovation, creativity, the ability to inspire, and their contribution to the human environment and society.

There is no fixed number of nominees, and anyone can be nominated, ensuring a broad spectrum of candidates each year. The final decision is made by the jury after careful deliberation, and the winner is announced in spring, followed by the official award ceremony.

The Pritzker Prize 2024 promises to be another highlight in the celebration of architectural excellence worldwide. With each year, the award not only honours an individual but also highlights the importance of architecture in enhancing daily life and the built environment.